President’s Commission on White House Fellowships Announcement of the 2013 National Finalists

2013 White House Fellows Program National Finalists

Each Finalist is listed with his or her current job title and hometown. 

Damon Armeni
Major, United States Army
Palmyra, VA

Khary P. Barnes
Director for Corporate Development, American Express
New York, NY

Jay Bhatt
Geriatric Medicine Fellow, University of Michigan Health system
Orland Park, IL

Myles B. Caggins III
Lieutenant Colonel and Public Affairs Officer, United States Army
Sumter, South Carolina

Vanessa Champion
Chief of Staff and Special Counsel, New York City Comptroller’s Office
Philadelphia, PA

Charina Choi
Postdoctoral Fellow in Chemistry, Stanford University
San Francisco, CA

Brent J. Cohen
Director of Legislative and Government Affairs, New York City Department of Probation
New York, NY

Jen Cornell
Labor and Employment Law Associate, Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Minneapolis, MN

Nicholas Ellis
Entrepreneur and Startup Advisor, Job Rooster
San Francisco, CA

Daniel Feehan
Former TFA Teacher and Army veteran
Chicago, IL

Justin Finnegan
Managing Director and Co-Founder, Mountain Hazelnuts Group (MHG)
Darien, CT

Shirlethia Franklin
Senior Associate, Alston & Bird LLP
Shaw, MS

Erica Gonzalez
Director of Public Policy and Community Partnerships, Green Dot Public Schools
Pico Rivera, CA

Vivian Greentree
Director of Research and Policy, Blue Star Families
Alexandria, VA

Will Hauser
Social Entrepreneur and Co-Founder, Two Degrees
San Francisco, CA

Maia Jachimowicz
Deputy Policy Director, Philadelphia Mayor Michael A. Nutter
Montgomery Village, MD

Kevin Keenan
Executive Director, ACLU of San Diego
San Diego, CA

Emily Kiely
Director, Shopper Insights at PepsiCo
Canova, SD

Cara LaPointe
Commander, United States Navy
Bethesda, MD

Debra McCoy
Manager of Emerging and Frontier Market Investment Initiatives, Stanford Management Company
San Francisco, CA

Robert “Mac” McFarlin
Lieutenant Commander and Surface Warfare Officer, United States Navy
Detroit, MI

Nicholas Melin
Professional Engineer and Major, United States Army
Milwaukee, WI

Kapil Parakh
Cardiologist, Johns Hopkins
Washington, DC

Shilpen Patel
Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology, University of Washington
Katy, TX

Stephen Patrick
Fellow in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, University of Michigan and C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital
Dexter, MI

Colleen Richards Powell
Chief External Relations and Communications Officer, Massachusetts Convention Center Authority
Newton, MA

Brenda Ritson
Pediatrician, Federally Qualified Community Health Center
Egg Harbor Township, NJ

Brian Sanderson
Lawyer and Founding Principal, Cardinal Group, LLC
Pascagoula, MS

Maura Sullivan
Senior Director, RMS
Palo Alto, CA

Victor Wu
Primary Care Physician, Grady Memorial Hospital
Kingsport, TN

The National Finalists met with President Obama’s Commission on White House Fellowships in Washington DC on June 6-9, 2013.  , The Commission will recommend between 11-19 individuals to President Obama for a one year appointment as 2013-2014 White House Fellows.  Those selected as Fellows will be part of the 49th class to serve in the nation’s most prestigious program for leadership and public service. 

Interactive Tour

Latest News and Updates