Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships

Faith and Community Leaders and members: Join the First Lady to launch Let’s Move Faith and Communities!

On Monday, November 29th at 2:30 PM EST, First Lady Michelle Obama will join faith and community leaders on a conference call to launch Let’s Move Faith and Communities, as part of the First Lady’s Let’s Move! campaign. 

On the call, the First Lady will highlight the important role that faith-based and community groups can play in ending childhood obesity in their neighborhoods. Several leaders will announce their responses to the Let’s Move! challenges. These community-based efforts are diverse and exciting, ranging from starting community gardens and farmers markets to getting children involved in the President’s Active Lifestyle Challenge. The First Lady will also unveil an electronic and print toolkit to support participation.

We have repeatedly witnessed the commitment of faith-based and neighborhood groups regarding childhood obesity. This past March we heard about creative efforts across the country at a Let’s Move! faith and community-based stakeholder meeting with the First Lady’s Office. In April, we participated in a series of visits to two local organizations committed to healthy living.

Faith-based and neighborhood organizations have a unique and critical role to play in ending childhood obesity and addressing related issues of hunger. Children learn many lessons about healthy living and well-being in faith- and community-based settings.

Please join us on Monday at 2:30 pm EST to hear about ways you can participate in this new initiative. With your engagement, Let’s Move! can have a lasting impact on children and families in our communities.  Here is the invitation:

A National Conference Call for Faith and Community Leaders

with First Lady Michelle Obama

Date:Monday, November 29th, 2010
Time: 2:30 PM Eastern, 1:30 PM Central, 12:30 PM Mountain, 11:30 AM Pacific

Dial-in information: 1-888-790-3160 (no passcode needed)

You do not need to RSVP for this call.

 

Alexia Kelley is the Director of the Center for Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

Max Finberg is the Director Center for Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships at the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Your Federal Tax Receipt