WASHINGTON – Today, President Joe Biden announced the acting agency leadership across the administration to assist in the next phase of the transition of government. These individuals, nearly all of whom are career civil servants, will temporarily lead federal agencies while Cabinet nominees continue moving through the confirmation process.

These public servants have significant experience in the agencies they will now temporarily lead. They will play an important role as the Biden administration prepares to coordinate a whole-of-government approach to tackle the challenges facing the nation, restore trust in our government, and ensure the federal government — and its many agencies — serves the American people.

President Joe Biden said, “These public servants, like so many across the federal government, are dedicated to serving the American people, not a political party or agenda. Their experience in government and commitment to service will allow this administration to take the reins as we prepare to get the pandemic under control and our economy moving once again. I am thankful for their willingness to step-up to lead during these difficult times and help us make sure the government continues to operate and serve the American people. Together, we are restoring trust in the federal government and building our nation back better.”

Vice President Kamala Harris said, “Protecting our nation’s interests abroad, rebuilding our economy, and confronting the coronavirus pandemic requires a team of dedicated experts. The acting leaders announced today are more than capable of helping with this incredible task. Many of them have dedicated their careers to public service, and I, on behalf of a grateful nation, am thankful for their willingness to temporarily serve in these critical first days of the administration.”

The following individuals will serve in acting capacities across the Biden-Harris administration until permanent leadership can be confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

Central Intelligence Agency, David Cohen
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Dave Uejio
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Kevin Shea
Department of Commerce, Wynn Coggins
Department of Defense, David Norquist
Department of Education, Phil Rosenfelt
Department of Energy, David Huizenga
Department of Health and Human Services, Norris Cochran
Department of Homeland Security, David Pekoske
Department of Housing and Urban Development, Matt Ammonn
Department of Interior, Scott de la Vega
Department of Justice, Monty Wilkinson
Department of Labor, Al Stewart
Department of State, Dan Smith
Department of Transportation, Lana Hurdle
Department of Treasury, Andy Baukol
Department of Veterans Affairs, Dat Tran
Office of the Director of National Intelligence, Lora Shiao
Environmental Protection Agency, Jane Nishida
General Services Administration, Katy Kale
National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Steve Jurczyk
National Endowment for the Arts, Ann Eilers
National Endowment for the Humanities, Adam Wolfson
Office of Management and Budget, Rob Fairweather
Office of National Drug Control Policy, Regina LaBelle
Office of Personnel Management, Kathy McGettigan
Peace Corps, Carol Spahn
Small Business Administration, Tami Perriello
Social Security Administration, Andrew Saul
U.S. Agency for Global Media, Kelu Chao
U.S. Agency for International Development, Gloria Steele
U.S. International Development Finance Corporation, Dev Jagadesan
U.S. Mission to the United Nations, Rich Mills
Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, Maria Pagan


Stay Connected

Sign Up

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Opt in to send and receive text messages from President Biden.

Scroll to Top Scroll to Top