Today, Jennifer Klein, White House Gender Policy Council Director and Julie Chavez Rodriguez, White House Intergovernmental Affairs Director, hosted a meeting with state legislative leaders in Kansas, Louisiana, and North Carolina on efforts to defend reproductive health and rights.

Legislative leaders discussed the status of ongoing attacks in these states on reproductive rights, as well as their efforts to protect access to critical reproductive health care. On August 2, 2022, Kansans will vote on a ballot measure that would strip the right to abortion from the state constitution. The Kansas Supreme Court has twice ruled that the Kansas state constitution guarantees the fundamental right to abortion. Louisiana’s legislature will adjourn in a matter of days, and multiple bills are currently circulating that would undercut women’s rights. In North Carolina, ongoing work is required to protect access to care.  White House Senior Officials thanked participants for their leadership and efforts to defend reproductive freedom.

Today’s engagement follows a meeting senior White House officials held last week with legislators who are advancing  legislation to protect reproductive rights.

State legislative leaders from today’s meeting included:

  • North Carolina House Democratic Leader Robert Reives
  • North Carolina Representative Julie Von Haefen
  • Kansas Senate Minority Leader Dinah Sykes
  • Kansas House Minority Whip Stephanie Clayton
  • Kansas Senate Minority Whip Pat Pettey
  • Kansas House Minority Caucus Chair Barbara Ballard
  • Kansas Senate Agenda Chair Marci Francisco
  • Kansas Representative Sydney Carlin
  • Kansas Representative Gail Finney
  • Kansas Representative Christina Haswood
  • Louisiana Representative Mandie Landry


Stay Connected

Sign Up

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Opt in to send and receive text messages from President Biden.

Scroll to Top Scroll to Top