As Chair of the National Space Council, Vice President Kamala Harris today announced the individuals selected to serve on the National Space Council’s Users Advisory Group (UAG).  Pending official appointment by the Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the selected members of the UAG will serve to enable the Biden-Harris Administration’s effort to maintain a robust and responsible U.S. space enterprise and preserve space for current and future generations. 

The candidates represent a cross-section of companies and organizations that support the United States’ large and highly skilled space workforce; users of space services, including climate scientists and agriculture providers; individuals focused on developing the next generation of space professionals; and leading experts in space.

The UAG will provide the National Space Council advice and recommendations on matters related to space policy and strategy, including but not limited to, government policies, laws, regulations, treaties, international instruments, programs, and practices across the civil, commercial, international, and national security space sectors.

The Vice President announced the UAG Chair, General (USAF, Ret) Lester Lyles, during the second space council meeting in September. Below is the full selection to the National Space Council’s UAG:

  • General (USAF, Ret) Lester Lyles, UAG Chair    
  • Mr. Rajeev Badyal, VP of Technology, Amazon Project Kuiper    
  • Mr. Charles Bolden, Former NASA Administrator and Former Astronaut
  • Mr. Salvatore T. Bruno, CEO, United Launch Alliance    
  • Dr. Lance Bush, President & CEO, Challenger Center    
  • Ms. Bridget Chatman, Chairwoman, Women in Aerospace
  • Mr. Theodore “Ted” Colbert, CEO, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
  • Ms. Nancy Colleton, President, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies     
  • Ms. Karina Drees, President, Commercial Spaceflight Federation    
  • Mr. Eric Fanning, President and CEO, Aerospace Industries Association
  • Dr. Daniel Hastings, Head, Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology     
  • Ms. Dawne Hickton, Subject Matter Expert
  • Mr. Daniel Jablonsky, President & CEO, Maxar Technologies     
  • Dr. Dave Kaufman, President, Ball Aerospace     
  • Mr. Patrick Lin, Director of the Ethics & Emerging Sciences Program, California Polytechnic State University     
  • Mr. Ron Lopez, President & Managing Director, Astroscale US    
  • Dr. Harold Lee Martin, Chancellor of North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University   
  • Dr. Kate Marvel, Climate Scientist at Project Drawdown    
  • Maj Gen (Ret) Roosevelt “Ted” Mercer, CEO & Director, Virginia Space 
  • Dr. Marla Perez-Davis, Former Director, NASA Glenn Research Center
  • Dr. Sian Proctor, Geoscience Professor, South Mountain Community College     
  • Ms. Gwynne Shotwell, President & COO, SpaceX
  • Dr. Robert Smith, CEO, Blue Origin    
  • Mr. James Taiclet, President & CEO, Lockheed Martin     
  • Dr. Mandy Vaughn, Subject Matter Expert
  • Ms. Kathy Warden, Chairwoman & CEO, Northrop Grumman Corp     
  • Mr. Robbie Schingler, Jr., Co-Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Planet Labs  
  • Ms. Melanie Stricklan, Co-Founder & CEO, Slingshot Aerospace     
  • Dr. Jeremy Williams, Head, Climate Corporation & Digital Farming, Bayer Crop Science     
  • Ms. Katrina Harden Williams, Middle School Teacher, Ames Middle School, Iowa

Stay Connected

Sign Up

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Opt in to send and receive text messages from President Biden.

Scroll to Top Scroll to Top