The Arctic Executive Steering Committee (AESC), established by executive order on January 21, 2015, works to provide guidance to federal departments and agencies and to enhance coordination of Federal Arctic policies across agencies and offices. The AESC also coordinates with State, local, and Alaska Native tribal governments and other Alaska Native organizations, academic and research institutions, and the private and nonprofit sectors to meet the needs of Americans living in the Arctic and to advance U.S. interests throughout the circumpolar Arctic.

AESC Leadership & Members:

The Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) serves as Chair of the AESC. The Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs serves as Vice Chair of the AESC. The AESC meets regularly to shape priorities, establish strategic direction, oversee implementation, and ensure coordination of Federal activities in the Arctic.

As outlined in Executive Order 13689, the membership of the AESC consists of:

(i) the heads, or their designees, of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, the Council on Environmental Quality, the Domestic Policy Council, and the National Security Council;

(ii) the Executive Officer of the Steering Committee, who shall be designated by the Chair of the Steering Committee (Chair); and

(iii) the Deputy Secretary or equivalent officer from the Departments of State, Defense, Justice, the Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Labor, Health and Human Services, Transportation, Energy, and Homeland Security; the Office of the Director of National Intelligence; the Environmental Protection Agency; the National Aeronautics and Space Administration; the National Science Foundation; the Arctic Research Commission; and the Office of Management and Budget; the Assistant to the President for Public Engagement and Intergovernmental Affairs, or his or her designee; and other agencies or offices as determined appropriate by the Chair.

After consultation with the AESC Principals at their December 2, 2021 meeting, the AESC Chair determined that the Denali Commission is also a member of the AESC.

Ambassador David Balton serves as Executive Director of the AESC and Ms. Raychelle Aluaq Daniel serves as the Deputy Director of the AESC.

Stay Connected

Sign Up

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Opt in to send and receive text messages from President Biden.

Scroll to Top Scroll to Top