2000 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities



EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET WASHINGTON D.C. 20503

OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET

2000 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities

AGENCY: Office of Management and Budget

ACTION: Notice

SUMMARY: This notice provides a list of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities, as required by the Inspector General Act of 1978 (IG Act), as subsequently amended.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Karen Shaffer or Tawana Webb at 202-395-6911, Office of Federal Financial Management, Office of Management and Budget.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: This notice provides a copy of the 2000 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities, which the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) is required to publish annually under the IG Act. This list is also posted on the Inspector General Community's website, IGNET, at http://www.ignet.gov.

The List is divided into two groups: Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities. The Designated Federal Entities are required to establish and maintain Offices of Inspector General. The Designated Federal Entities are listed in the IG Act, except that those agencies which have ceased to exist have been deleted from the list.

Federal Entities are required to report annually to each House of the Congress and OMB on audit and investigative activities in their organizations. Federal Entities are defined as "any Government corporation (within the meaning of section 103 (1) of title 5, United States Code), any Government controlled corporation (within the meaning of section 103 (2) of such title), or any other entity in the Executive Branch of government, or any independent regulatory agency" other than the Executive Office of the President and agencies with statutory Inspectors General. There are 2 deletions and no additions in the 2000 list of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities from the 1999 list

published in the August 19, 1999, *Federal Register*. The Denali Commission was transferred to the Designated Federal Entities list.

The 2000 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities was prepared in consultation with the U.S. General Accounting Office.

Joshua Gotbaum

Executive Associate Director and Controller, Office of Federal Financial Management

Herein follows the text of the 2000 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities:

2000 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities

The Inspector General Act of 1978, as subsequently amended, requires OMB to publish a list of "Designated Federal Entities" and "Federal Entities" and the heads of such entities. Designated Federal Entities were required to establish Offices of Inspector General before April 17, 1989. Federal Entities are required to report annually to each House of the Congress and the Office of Management and Budget on audit and investigative activities in their organizations.

DESIGNATED FEDERAL ENTITIES AND ENTITY HEADS

- 1. Amtrak President
- 2. Appalachian Regional Commission Federal Co-Chairperson
- 3. The Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System Chairperson
- 4. Commodity Futures Trading Commission Chairperson
- 5. Consumer Product Safety Commission Chairperson
- 6. Corporation for Public Broadcasting Board of Directors
- 7. Denali Commission Chairperson
- 8. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Chairperson
- 9. Farm Credit Administration Chairperson
- 10. Federal Communications Commission Chairperson
- 11. Federal Election Commission Chairperson
- 12. Federal Housing Finance Board Chairperson
- 13. Federal Labor Relations Authority Chairperson

- 14. Federal Maritime Commission Chairperson
- 15. Federal Trade Commission Chairperson
- 16. Legal Services Corporation Board of Directors
- 17. National Archives and Records Administration Archivist of the United States
- 18. National Credit Union Administration Chairperson
- 19. National Endowment for the Arts Chairperson
- 20. National Endowment for the Humanities Chairperson
- 21. National Labor Relations Board Chairperson
- 22. National Science Foundation National Science Board
- 23. Peace Corps Director
- 24. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation Chairperson
- 25. Securities and Exchange Commission Chairperson
- 26. Smithsonian Institution Secretary
- 27. Tennessee Valley Authority Board of Directors
- 28. United States International Trade Commission Chairperson
- 29. United States Postal Service Governors of the Postal Service

FEDERAL ENTITIES AND ENTITY HEADS

- 1. Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Chairperson
- 2. African Development Foundation Chairperson
- 3. American Battle Monuments Commission Chairperson
- 4. Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board Chairperson
- 5. Armed Forces Retirement Home Board of Directors
- 6. Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation Chairperson
- 7. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board Chairperson
- 8. Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Chairperson
- 9. Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad Chairperson
- 10. Commission of Fine Arts Chairperson
- 11. Commission on Civil Rights Chairperson
- 12. Committee for Purchase from People Who Are Blind or Severely Disabled Chairperson
- 13. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims Chief Judge
- 14. Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board Chairperson
- 15. Export-Import Bank President and Chairperson
- 16. Farm Credit System Financial Assistance Corporation Chairperson
- 17. Farm Credit System Insurance Corporation Chairperson

- 18. Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council Appraisal Subcommittee Chairperson
- 19. Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service Director
- 20. Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission Chairperson
- 21. Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board Executive Director
- 22. Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation Chairperson
- 23. Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development Chairperson
- 24. Institute of Museum and Library Services Director
- 25. Inter-American Foundation Chairperson
- 26. James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Chairperson
- 27. Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission Chairperson
- 28. Marine Mammal Commission Chairperson
- 29. Merit Systems Protection Board Chairperson
- 30. Morris K. Udall Scholarship and Excellence in National Environmental Policy Foundation Chairperson
- 31. National Capital Planning Commission Chairperson
- 32. National Commission on Libraries and Information Science Chairperson
- 33. National Council on Disability Chairperson
- 34. National Education Goals Panel Chairperson
- 35. National Mediation Board Chairperson
- 36. National Transportation Safety Board Chairperson
- 37. Neighborhood Reinvestment Corporation Chairperson
- 38. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board Chairperson
- 39. Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission Chairperson
- 40. Office of Government Ethics Director
- 41. Office of Navajo and Hopi Indian Relocation Chairperson
- 42. Office of Special Counsel Special Counsel
- 43. Offices of Independent Counsel Independent Counsels
- 44. Overseas Private Investment Corporation Board of Directors
- 45. Postal Rate Commission Chairperson
- 46. Presidio Trust Chairperson
- 47. Selective Service System Director
- 48. Smithsonian Institution/John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts-Chairperson
- 49. Smithsonian Institution/National Gallery of Art President
- 50. Smithsonian Institution/Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars Director
- 51. State Justice Institute Director
- 52. Trade and Development Agency Director
- 53. U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council Chairperson

54. U.S. Institute of Peace - Chairperson