Small Disadvantaged Business Procurement



OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT
OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET
WASHINGTON D.C. 20503

OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET

Office of Federal Procurement Policy

SMALL DISADVANTAGED BUSINESS PROCUREMENT; REFORM OF AFFIRMATIVE ACTION IN FEDERAL PROCUREMENT

AGENCY: Office of Federal Procurement Policy (OFPP)

ACTION: Notice of Definitions of Regions Used in Price Evaluation Adjustments and Benchmarking

Methodology

SUMMARY: The Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR), 48 CFR Part 19, contains regulations permitting eligible small disadvantaged businesses (SDBs) to receive price evaluation adjustments in Federal Procurement Programs. The FAR provides further that the Department of Commerce (DOC) will determine the price evaluations adjustments (percentages) by standard industrial classification (SIC) major groups and regions (if any). OMB published the DOC Notice of Determination Concerning the Price Evaluation Adjustment in the *Federal Register* on June 30, 1998 (63 FR 35714). The original DOC notice recommended price evaluation adjustments on a national basis for all SIC major groups except construction major groups 15, 16, and 17, which were on a regional basis. The original DOC notice did not include the list of states and outlying areas that comprise the regions (of which there are nine). The attached DOC memorandum supplements the original notice by listing the states and outlying areas for the nine regions.

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 1998

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Ms. Linda G. Williams, Deputy Associate Administrator, Office of Federal Procurement Policy, Telephone 202-395-3302. For further information on the Commerce regional definitions, contact Mr. Jeffrey Mayer, Director of Policy Development, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce, Telephone, 202-482-1728.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

DEFINITIONS OF REGIONS

OFPP gives notice that the attached Memorandum from the DOC supplements the original Commerce Notice of Determination Concerning Price Evaluation Adjustments by listing the states and outlying areas that comprise the nine regions.

/S/

Deidre A. Lee

Administrator

Date: October 1, 1998

Attachment

September 21, 1998

MEMORANDUM FOR OFFICE OF FEDERAL PROCUREMENT POLICY

FROM: Jeffrey L. Mayer

Director of Policy Development

SUBJECT: Definitions of Regions Used in Price Evaluation Adjustments and Benchmarking Methodology

This memorandum supplements the Notice of Determination Concerning Price Evaluation Adjustments transmitted by the Department of Commerce (DOC) to the Office of Federal Procurement Policy and published in the Federal Register on June 30, 1998. In the Notice, recommendations specific to major industry groups (and combinations thereof) apply nation-wide for all industry groupings except the major construction industry groups (Standard Industrial Classification Major Industry Groups 15, 16, and 17). Recommendations in these three major groups apply regionally rather than nationally. Regional definitions are based on the nine multi-state Divisions used by the Bureau of the Census when it reports certain sub-national data. DOC augmented the Bureau's basic definitions for the Divisions by including Guam in the Pacific Region and Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands in the South Atlantic Region. This memorandum provides a complete list of the state and outlying areas that comprise each of the nine regions used by DOC.

East North Central: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin

East South Central: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee

Middle Atlantic: New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania

Mountain: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming

New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

Pacific: Alaska, California, Guam, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington

South Atlantic: Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia

West North Central: Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota

West South Central: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas