The Cabinet

The tradition of the Cabinet dates back to the beginnings of the Presidency itself. Established in Article II, Section 2, of the Constitution, the Cabinet's role is to advise the President on any subject he may require relating to the duties of each member's respective office.

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the Attorney General.

In order of succession to the Presidency:

Vice President of the United States
Joseph R. Biden

Department of State
Secretary John Kerry

Department of the Treasury
Secretary Jack Lew

Department of Defense
Secretary Ashton Carter

Department of Justice
Attorney General Eric H. Holder, Jr.

Department of the Interior
Secretary Sally Jewell
Department of Agriculture
Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack
Department of Commerce
Secretary Penny Pritzker

Department of Labor
Secretary Thomas E. Perez

Department of Health and Human Services
Secretary Sylvia Mathews Burwell
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Secretary Julián Castro
Department of Transportation
Secretary Anthony Foxx
Department of Energy
Secretary Ernest Moniz
Department of Education
Secretary Arne Duncan
Department of Veterans Affairs
Secretary Robert McDonald
Department of Homeland Security
Secretary Jeh Johnson

The following positions have the status of Cabinet-rank:
White House Chief of Staff
Denis McDonough

Environmental Protection Agency
Administrator Gina McCarthy

Office of Management & Budget
Director Shaun L.S. Donovan

United States Trade Representative
Ambassador Michael Froman

United States Mission to the United Nations
Ambassador Samantha Power

Council of Economic Advisers
Chairman Jason Furman
Small Business Administration
Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet

Inside the White House: The Cabinet

Latest News and Updates