Yesterday, senior officials from the White House, Department of Defense, and Department of Homeland Security participated in the 27th plenary meeting of the Council of Governors to discuss upcoming initiatives and priorities. Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas, White House Homeland Security Advisor Dr. Liz Sherwood-Randall, Deputy Secretary of Defense Dr. Kathleen Hicks, and Senior Advisor to the President and Director of Intergovernmental Affairs Tom Perez provided opening remarks.  Governors participating included Co-Chair of the Council of Governors Minnesota Governor Tim Walz, Delaware Governor John Carney, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer, Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham, and Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb.
The Council of Governors members provided and received updates on cybersecurity, emergency management and disaster preparedness, military support, and workforce development. The Council also received an overview of strategic budget trends from Undersecretary of Defense Michael McCord and an update on the Department of Defense’s forthcoming Homeland Defense Policy Guidance from Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and Hemispheric Affairs Melissa Dalton. 
The Council discussed “long-term recovery and rebuilding.”  Homeland Security Advisor Sherwood-Randall provided an overview of the Administration’s ongoing work to support communities in becoming more prepared for disasters and in rebuilding faster and better in their aftermath. The Governors and Administration officials committed to working closely together going forward to advance this vital effort, and plan to discuss adoption of this issue as a Council priority in the near future.
The Council of Governors was authorized in 2008 by the National Defense Authorization Act and formally established by then-President Obama’s Executive Order 13528 issued on January 11, 2010. The Council focuses on matters of homeland security; homeland defense; civil support; synchronization and integration of state and Federal military activities in the United States; and other matters of mutual interest, including those involving the National Guard.

The Council of Governors includes:

  • Governor Tim Walz (MN), Co-Chair of the Council of Governors
  • Governor Mike DeWine (OH), Co-Chair of the Council of Governors
  • Governor Phil Scott (VT)
  • Governor John Carney (DE)
  • Governor John Bel Edwards (LA)
  • Governor Gretchen Whitmer (MI)
  • Governor Spencer Cox (UT)
  • Governor Mark Gordon (WY)
  • Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM)
  • Governor Eric Holcomb (IN)


Stay Connected

Sign Up

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Opt in to send and receive text messages from President Biden.

Scroll to Top Scroll to Top