The CEA is led by a Chair who is appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate, and two members who are appointed by the President. With a staff of senior economists, staff economists, research assistants, and supporting administrators, the Council analyzes and interprets economic developments and formulates and recommends economic policies that advance the interests of the American people.

The Council of Economic Advisers is an agency within the Executive Office of the President. It is charged with offering the President objective economic advice on the formulation of both domestic and international policy. The Council bases its recommendations and analysis on economic research and empirical evidence, using the best data available to support the President in setting our nation’s economic policy.

Stay Connected

Sign Up

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Opt in to send and receive text messages from President Biden.

Scroll to Top Scroll to Top