WASHINGTON – Today, President Biden announced his intent to appoint eight renowned leaders to the National Science Board. The National Science Board guides the work of the National Science Foundation, and these appointees will help ensure that the Biden-Harris Administration continues to leverage science and technology to benefit all Americans.
“I am delighted that President Biden has appointed these world-class scientific and engineering leaders to the National Science Board. I am especially proud that the President’s appointments will make this the most diverse National Science Board in history, working to deliver results for every American,” said Arati Prabhakar, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and Assistant to the President for Science and Technology. “The National Science Board plays an indispensable role in helping the National Science Foundation advance American innovation to achieve our highest aspirations, and helping the American people understand the importance of the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. This mission has never been more important, and I look forward to working with them to achieve it.”
“It is a delight to be able to work with this outstanding group of board members to expand the frontiers of science, technology and innovation as we continue to advance NSF’s mission of promoting discovery and innovation for economic and societal benefit,” said National Science Foundation Director Sethuraman Panchanathan.

  • Deborah Loewenberg Ball, Member, National Science Board
  • Vicki L. Chandler, Member, National Science Board
  • Dorota A. Grejner-Brzezinska, Member, National Science Board
  • Marvi Ann Matos Rodriguez, Member, National Science Board
  • Keivan G. Stassun, Member, National Science Board
  • Merlin Theodore, Member, National Science Board
  • Wanda Elaine Ward, Member, National Science Board
  • Bevlee A. Watford, Member, National Science Board

Full biographies for these appointees are available here.

About the National Science Board:

The National Science Foundation Act of 1950, which created the NSF, states that “The Foundation shall consist of a National Science Board … and a Director.” Jointly the Board and the Director pursue the goals and function of the NSF, including the duty to “recommend and encourage the pursuit of national policies for the promotion of research and education in science and engineering.”

In addition, the National Science Board has two important roles. First, it establishes the policies of NSF within the framework of applicable national policies set forth by the President and the Congress. In this capacity, the Board identifies issues that are critical to NSF’s future, approves NSF’s strategic budget directions and the annual budget submission to the Office of Management and Budget, and approves new major programs and awards. The second role of the Board is to serve as an independent body of advisors to both the President and the Congress on policy matters related to science and engineering and education in science and engineering. In addition to major reports, the NSB also publishes occasional policy papers or statements on issues of importance to U.S. science and engineering. The NSB is made up of 25 Members appointed by the President. The NSF Director is an ex officio Member. Members serve six-year terms.


Stay Connected

Sign Up

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Opt in to send and receive text messages from President Biden.

Scroll to Top Scroll to Top