Navigate this Section

The National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) was established by Executive Order on November 23, 1993. The NSTC coordinates science and technology policy across the various Federal research and development agencies. Chaired by the President, the membership of the NSTC is made up of the Vice President, the Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, Cabinet Secretaries and Agency Heads with significant science and technology responsibilities, and other White House officials. A primary objective of the NSTC is to establish clear national goals for Federal science and technology investments in a broad array of areas spanning virtually all the mission areas of the Executive Branch. The Council prepares research and development strategies that are coordinated across agencies to make sure the Federal government forms investment packages and policies that are smart investments and aimed at accomplishing multiple national goals. 

For additional information concerning the work of the National Science and Technology Council please send an email to:

Recent Reports:

October 2021

NSTC: National Strategic Computing Reserve: A Blueprint can be found here.

NSTC: National Strategic Overview for Research & Development Infrastructure can be found here.

September 2021

NSTC: Best Practices for Diversity & Inclusion in STEM Education & Research: A guide by & for Federal Agencies can be found here.

August 2021

NSTC: National Research and Development Plan for Positioning, Navigation, and Timing Resilience can be found here.

USGCRP: Our Changing Planet can be found here.

Reports generated by the National Science and Technology Council from 2017-2020 can be found here

Reports generated by the National Science and Technology Council from 2009-2016 can be found here

Stay Connected

We'll be in touch with the latest information on how President Biden and his administration are working for the American people, as well as ways you can get involved and help our country build back better.

Scroll to Top